racecar

Then, waiting at a red light in separate rickshaws, my friend Anand and I reach across a lane of traffic to bump fists.

“Let’s fist bump, I love you man!” we cry gaily to each other.

The motorcyclist between us glares through his visor back at Anand, then around to the other side at me.

“You’re right, I gotta stay in Pune this weekend!” I yell into my cell phone like a general in the heat of battle. “What was I thinking?”

Through both eyes I see my buddy shouting and smiling out of the rickshaw, mirroring me. Through one ear I hear real Anand, voice drowning at sea; through the other I hear loud cell phone Anand, voice bobbing afloat. My real voice launches ambitiously towards him but fizzles and dies prematurely, disintegrated by the smelly vibrating clamor of motors. My cell phone voice carries. Despite being ten feet away from each other and looking into each other’s eyes, we both stay on the phone. I lean out and yell to him, he leans out and yells to me – two people, four voices.

Anand’s rick has pulled up and stopped next to ours, a few meters away, motorcycles revving between us.

I’m taking mental bullets of epiphany. “When I return, they’ll be gone.” I only have a week left with my closest friends in India, before we all go home or off to find ourselves up North.

“This is our last weekend together! Sam, bloody hell!” Anand yells over the smog and jackhammer din of a rickshaw, “You know I’m leaving for up North before you get back! See, Anita’s telling me you’re planning on going to Hampi this weekend! Heyyy,” It’s Anand! My phone rings.

We launch into oncoming lanes and regain the lead, hollering and waving as we drive by. Their rickshaw zooms off before ours can start. Obviously it’s a race. Anand and Anita hop in one rickshaw, Phoebe and I in the one right behind. It’s another great day leaving the office with friends.

[rewind sentence by sentence]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to racecar

  1. Anita says:

    Even at the time of this exchange, I was sitting in disbelief. It was like the end of a romantic film – a tearful plea to stay, shouting over the traffic, fist bumping at a red light. Cue “American Girl” by Tom Petty. Roll credits.

    P.S. Tacocat is also a palindrome.

  2. Anand says:

    Oh dude!
    You make me laugh. Can’t believe time is over soon. What comes to my mind going down the memory lane? The Malaria incident, first time at Good Luck, giving you my DOs and DONTs speach for India, baffling the agent by rejecting an apartment you were actually willing to take – and by that, baffling you as well, the Pecker incident in Goa, the Spiderman Kiss, many boys night out, the chicks at Shivaji Market… – and soon it’s over! Damn! So lets celebrate one more time and have the weekend of all weekends here! (Why am I saying that? “I’m gettin’ too old for this shit!” – Thanks, Danny Glover ;))
    Big fist bump!
    Anand.

    • sjewler says:

      Add to that the wild cricket night, inept foibles at Goa beach volleyball, facilitating my addiction to Thums Up, having a purse, making numerous attempts to replicate Jenn’s “pretty fuckin fantastic,” and many more. Let’s do it big this weekend brother fister!

  3. Jennifer Hughes says:

    I hate goodbyes…. why do I feel this overwhelming sadness by Sam leaving India, as well. I hope that we can all plan a trip together soon. A reunion. Please. I miss all of you. 🙂

    • Anand says:

      Awieeee!

    • sjewler says:

      I’m not leaving quite yet! But yeah it’s sad. Everything changes so quickly, our friend group (or “friend cycle” as Marc would say) is like a constantly mutating amoeba. Let’s definitely do a reunion trip! Maybe to Vegas or Bangkok like in Hangover/Hangover 2.

  4. Anand says:

    By the way: It’s hump me! Not Humpi! (That’s what she said.)

Leave a comment